It’s OK! I’m OK!

Mem LOVES to quote lines from movies.  He is always repeating a line over and over to get the infection just. right.  He often quotes the “It’s OK! I’m OK!” from the end of Gnomeo and Juliet.  Lately, I’m the one repeating it over and over to myself.

Returning to school is always a big transition.  At first it is very exciting.  The thrill of a new school year.  A new beginning.  New friends.  Old friends.  New challenges and fun puzzles to solve.  The comfort of a routine.

Then, the “excited” wears off.  And you realize that this is it.  For the next 10 months the laundry pile will never disappear.  Fighting with Mem to get dressed will happen up to five mornings a week.  Sometimes we’ll run out of milk.  Sometimes Bub will miss the bus.  (The likelihood of this apparently increases when I have morning duty.)  Sis will eat in the car on the way to cheer.  This is the new routine.

It takes a bit for me to reconcile myself to the new routine.  I hold myself to a high standard as a mother and a teacher.  The 10 hour work days these last three weeks don’t make for a very good mama.  One day after school, I was working in my classroom and Sis commented, “It feels like we live here.”  It does.  And so I’ve been reminded to shift the priority a little.  And it’s OK! I’m OK!

I made a list of the most important things to finish at school.  This week, my goal is to leave by 5:00 each day.  And yesterday, I focused on having fun with my family.

We had a good good day!  I’ll blog about that tomorrow.  (One of my other new goals is to be asleep by 10:00 each night…)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

