Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to the Love of my Life!

We celebrated DH with fried chicken (that I bought so he wouldn’t have to cook it), kid made cards and pictures, a gnome with a gardening store gift certificate, and the promise to let him relax!

Our day started early with a 4am storm siren.  The storm siren is literally half a block from our back door.  As we huddled together in front of the radar, bleary-eyed, this was my conversation with Mem.

Mem:  What time is it?

Me: 4 o’clock

Mem: Is it 4 o’clock in the morning or in the night?

Me: Huh?

Mem: Is it 4 o’clock at the start of the day or in the night?

Me:  Well, it’s 4 o’clock in the morning, it’s just not light yet.

Mem:  Then it’s Father’s Day! I can give Dad my card!

And up he shot to grab the card he made for DH.  He did have to read it to him as I’m not sure DH had his glasses close by.  He worked very hard on it, even drawing Snoopy and Woodstock since he knows DH likes them.  I was proud of the way he tried to draw something new. (Mem’s not a risk taker and is not usually happy with approximations.) He is so his father’s son, always focused on the date and loving to give cards!

The rest of the day (after we slept in way too late!) went smoothly.  DH was able to relax all day, just like we promised.  No small miracle with this crew!

Happy Father’s Day, Dear.  I love you.  I love sharing these children with you.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy Father’s Day

  1. I can’t believe how much your older son looks like you in these pictures–that is so the Amy I remember from our childhood! Love reading about your summer days!

Leave a Reply

