Spiritual Gifts

I pray for my family everyday.  I pray that all my decisions are “God decisions” as I consider each child, each part of our day, my words, my actions.  Yet, sometimes I am frustrated.  Sometimes I am confused.  Sometimes I am unsure.

Recently I was wallowing in my lack of understanding with a good friend.  She proceded to ask me a million questions in hopes to find my spiritual gifts.  I have no idea the website, but it sure seemed like a lot of questions.  After the 1,098th question, she exclaimed Sherlock-Holmes-style, “I knew it!  You’re hospitality!” 

Huh.  Hospitality?  Really?  “You’ve seen  my house,” I remind her.  “I knew you were going to be hospitality” she goes on, still proud of herself.  OK.  I do have people at my house for small group each week.  I decided to believe her.  I was feeling all right about hospitality.  Then I shot myself in the foot.

“What are some other gifts?”  What I was really asking her was “what don’t I have?”  She emailed me the list.  I have no idea what all the percentages mean, but I know better than to ask.

100% Hospitality Acts 16:14-15
89% Mercy Luke 10:30-37
78% Teacher Hebrews 5:12-14
78% Missionary 1 Corinthians 9:19-23
78% Leadership Hebrews 13:7
78% Healing James 5:13-16
78% Exhortation Acts 11:23-24
78% Discernment Acts 5:3-6
78% Administration Acts 15:12-21
67% Servant/Helps Acts 6:2-4
67% Intercession 1 Timothy 2:1-2
56% Wisdom James 3:13-17
44% Pastor 1 Peter 5:1-4
44% Giving 2 Corinthians 8:1-5
44% Faith Hebrews 11:1
44% Artistry Exodus 31:1-11
44% Apostle Acts 14:21-23
22% Prophet 1 Corinthians 14:3
22% Music 1 Corinthians 14:26
22% Evangelist Acts 8:26-40

Aw.  Bummer.  Though I am truly blessed to see words like mercy, missionary, and healing at the top of the list, I was so bummed to see faith, wisdom and giving at the bottom.  How bad is that?  Faith.  At the bottom.  Giving.  At the bottom.  Wisdom.  At the bottom.

I fought the urge to ask her to give me the quiz again.  I didn’t ask for the site.  I just prayed.  I’m still praying. 

Please God, grow me in faith, teach me to give, challenge me in wisdom. 

Thank you, God, for a merciful heart, a home to share, and a wide wide world.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Spiritual Gifts

  1. Brooke

    You’re a good woman.

Leave a Reply

