Welcome Christmas!

Christmas is Coming!  Today was a wonderful day! 

We slept in a little.  At church the music was great – complete with the old standards “Amazing Grace” and “How Great Thou Art.”  After church we sat down for lunch around the table.  I love when we are all home at the same time.  Food around the table just tastes better.  After lunch I made cookies.  Mmmm!  I even made my favorite chocolate chip cookies.  I found the recipe on a Butter Flavor Crisco package many years ago.  Today I didn’t have Butter Flavor Crisco so I used a stick of butter and it turned out fine.  I also used dark brown sugar instead of light brown.  Lucy and I love to taste it when all you have is the butter/sugar/milk/vanilla mixture.  Good stuff.

Recipe:

  • 3/4 Cup Butter Flavor Crisco Shortening
  • 1-1/4 Cups firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons milk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1-3/4 Cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-1/2 Cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Heat oven to 375*F
  2. Combine Crisco, brown sugar, milk, and vanilla in a large bowl.  Beat at medium speed of electric mixer until well blended (I just use a fork).  Beat egg into creamed mixture.
  3. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda.  Mix into creamed mixture until just blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.
  4. Drop by rounded Tablespoonfuls of dough 3 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheet.  Bake one baking sheet at a time at 375*F for 8-10 minutes.  Do not overbake.  Cool 2 minutes on cookie sheet.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies according to the recipe, but I ended up with 29 today.

All the Christmas decorations are upstairs and the tree is put together.  The kids and I had hoped to put some ornaments on the tree today, but Sparkle and Lightning thought it was their new playground while we were at church.  Papa was pretty frustrated so we are letting him simmer down before returning it to its former beauty.  There’s always tomorrow.

We made hot chocolate and packed a picnic basket with cookies, candy canes, cups and empty Walmart bags.  We tossed chairs and blankets into the truck too and headed out for the Parade of Lights – a local Sunday-after-Thanksgiving-Day tradition.  It did sprinkle a little, but it wasn’t too cold so my heart was happy!  We met some friends, shared our treats and watched for Bubby to come by with J, L and H.  Though my belly was plenty full, the rest of the crew voted for a stop at the fast food Mexican spot.  From there we drove through the light display at the park. 

Full of Christmas cheer we are off to bed.  I am so ready for Christmas now!  This was just the day I needed.  I had been totally bummed that I didn’t have the cash for a Black Friday blow out. 

It took a perfect pre-Christmas Sunday to remind me of the important things. 

Merry (almost) Christmas to all and to all a Good Night!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

