At the door

I won’t say much because it is still too fresh.  I’m still too sad.  My mom wrote this tribute to my grandmother, my father’s mother, this week. 

At the door welcoming
          when Amy was just a baby
    to cherish and love her

     At the door welcoming
          when Amy was a small child
     to encourage and guide me

     At the door welcoming
          when Amy was a teenager
     to share laughter and a game of cards

     At the door welcoming
          when Amy was a young mother
     to show concern and pride

     At the door welcoming
          when Amy was busy on her own
     to inspire as a teacher, artist and master quilter

     At the door welcoming
          talk of family and friends
          a game of cards
          chex mix and a soda
          quilt patterns and material
          thankful for all L and R do
          L’s newest decorating accomplishments
          but she works too hard
          books and movies
          Glad to see Amy “she is too hard to understand on the phone”
          
     I will deeply miss knocking at that door
     She carried a strength, wit and love of family that I see in my daughter today. I thank her beyond words and miss her deeply.

 

Me too.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “At the door

  1. What a beautiful memorial to someone who was obviously a strong and wonderful woman.

Leave a Reply

